Tuesday, November 6, 2012

"Death By Bourbon" Book Tour

Life takes a dramatic turn for Josiah when she witnessess a death at an engagment party for guess who . . . Matt. Matt? Yes Matt.

Charming socialite Addison DeWitt falls into a fit after taking a sip of bourbon. That would be upsetting enough, but Josiah is sure it is murder. However, no one will believe her except for Lady Elsmere and Meriah Caldwell, the famous mystery writer. The three of them conspire to bring the murderer to justice. It turns out that the suspect is always three steps ahead of them. 

To make matters worse, Josiah's daughter, Asa, decides to move to London, Franklin leaves town and Jake starts singing a different tune. Josiah doubts her ability to meet the future alone. Maybe it's time to sell the Butterfly and move to Florida with the rest of the old folks.

My Thoughts...

This is the first book I've read by this author, Abigail Keam. In the beginning as I was reading this book I found it a bit difficult to follow. People just showed up in the story with no background information, and I thought; "Who are you and where did you come from?" Suddenly! I had a 'light bulb' moment...It dawned on me this is the fourth book in a series, therefore all these characters would have been explained, and introduced somewhere along the line in those other three books, which I hadn't read. So after that enlightened moment the mish-mash of characters begin to fall into place and the story began to make more sense. I continued with my reading, but being in the dark about so many of the characters made the story a bit on the boring side for me to follow.

 I tried, I really tried to connect with this jumble of many different characters, but I just couldn't. I'm sure if I had read the three books in this series before reading "Death By Bourbon," the fourth book in the series, I would have liked it much better. However, it is not the authors fault I didn't read the other three books in the series... I don't think this was a good stand alone book, it needed the information from the first three books to complete it. If you have already read the first three books you will probably like this book.

About the Author

Abigail Keam is an award-winning author who writes the Josiah Reynolds mystery series about a beekeeper turned sleuth.

Death By A HoneyBee won the 2010 Gold Medal Award for Women's Lit from Reader's Favorite and was a Finalist of the USA BOOK NEWS-Best Books of 2011. Death By Drowning won the 2011 Gold Medal Award for Best Mystery Sleuth and also was placed on the USA BOOK NEWS-Best Books of 2011.

Ms. Keam is also an award-winning beekeeper who lives on the Kentucky River in a metal house with her husband and various critters.

Abigail Keam’s Social Media Contacts:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/abigailshoney
Twitter: @AbigailKeam
Website: www.abigailkeam.com

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for review from First Rule Publicity from the author as part of a virtual book tour. I was not compensated nor was I required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


  1. Thank you for participating in Abigail's tour!

  2. Death by Bourbon does sound tempting...and it's good that you mentioned reading the first books before this one.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  3. WOW...fantastic review. So proud of you!! Great post.

  4. Gigi Ann, thanks for your honest review. Some books don't work well as stand-alones, although the premise of this one sounds fascinating!

  5. This sounds like it could be a good book. Like you, I find it difficult when reading books in the middle of series. That's been happening to me alot lately - reviewing books in the middle of series. However, the ones I've been reading worked okay. Although, I do think I would do better reading the series from the beginning.

  6. Thanks for the honest review. This sounds like a good series, but one that needs to be read in order. I'm on the blog tour as well.